L. G. Copeland

I received my undergraduate degree from the University of Missouri where I was also on the Wrestling team. Most people don't know that after college, I built an Italian restaurant and operated it for several years. It was a formal, evening dining establishment and I employed around 30 people. It was during this time that I became a client and first worked with lawyers. Dissatisfied with lawyers' services, especially the lack of communication and explanation, I was confident I could do better and decided to sell the business and attend the University of Missouri School of Law where I graduated with a Juris Doctorate degree in 1984. In spite of having practiced for over 30 years now, I have never forgotten my experiences as a client with lawyers, which has driven me to always keep a client-first approach. Another thing most people don't know is that I was a long distance runner for over 23 years, but I have had to give that up due to a knee problem from a wrestling injury. I still miss running very much.

When I am not practicing law, I lead a relatively simple life. I enjoy working out, going out to dinner, and spending time with friends. My family consists of my brother (a graduate of the University of Missouri School of Medicine), sister-in-law, and their four children (two of which graduated from Mizzou).

Historically, I have worked long hours. I don't play golf or take long vacations, but I do occasionally get to go fishing. My best fishing story ever is when my brother and I went to a far remote area of Alaska. There, I had a very close call with a bear (they are huge up there!). I hope to go again soon…but will try to avoid bears this time.

I really enjoy practicing law. It is never boring and I get many opportunities to help people and improve their lives. That is very rewarding.